Roman Pottery
The Roman pottery in the Department of Anthropology's collection is around 2000 years old. We have 119 different artifacts that represent at least 3 distinct ceramic types. Three of the main types are terra sigillata, color coated ware, and terra nigra. The pottery in our collection was found at 6 different sites. The three major sites are Carnuntum, a provincial capital east of modern Vienna, Lauriacum, a satellite fort of Carnuntum, and the Thames River Valley.

Display created by: Kassie Kmitch, Ivy Faulkner, and Sam Caldis